Australian Workplace Giving Award winner receiving trophy

The Annual Australian Workplace Giving Awards Announce 2023 Winners

Australian Workplace Giving Award winner receiving trophy

Winners for the 8th annual Australian Workplace Giving Awards have been announced for 2023, with entries providing the opportunity to celebrate Australia’s largest corporations and their employees’ incredible impact on much-loved charities. As the leading organisation supporting Australian employees to donate to charities through their places of work, Workplace Giving Australia was proud to announce the winners at a dual event in Sydney and Melbourne on 31st of October at an evening ceremony generously hosted by King & Wood Mallesons. This year’s judging panel, chaired by Associate Professor Wendy Scaife, Director of The Australian Centre for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Studies and QUT Business School, all felt an increase in the quality of the applications and diversity of organisations. Generously sponsored by the Australian Government Department of Social Services, the awards highlight workplace giving programs that enable support for causes while fostering a sense of purpose and unity within organisations. Recent research highlights that workplace giving offers advantages beyond good corporate citizenship and taxation benefits, with analysis highlighting workforce expectations and talent retention advantages and 85% of the survey respondents saying it is personally important that a company has a workplace giving program. The research also shows that if employers matched staff donations and these employees gave one extra dollar per week, charities could receive an additional $1 billion annually.  To discover more about the programs and read the case studies

Workplace Giving Australia CEO David Mann says that:  

With 85% of employees reporting that they would prefer to work for an organisation that genuinely creates great places to work by supporting charities, there are obvious benefits to employers who promote workplace giving. This year’s award finalists provide outstanding examples of best practice corporate philanthropy in today’s dynamic business landscape.


The 2023 winners are:

Best Corporate + Charity Partnership   

  • Winner: Auto & General Australia  

  • Runner up: QBE Group  

  • Highly Commended: Optus  

  • Highly Commended: The Smith Family  

Best Grants Program   

  • Winner: South East Water

  • Runner Up: QBE Group  

  • Highly Commended: Australia Post  

  • Highly Commended: REA Group   

Best Pro Bono/Volunteering Program   

  • Winner: Norton Rose Fulbright

  • Highly Commended: Macquarie Group

  • Highly Commended: Origin Energy Foundation  

Best Innovation   

  • Winner: TOGA

  • Runner Up: QBE Group  

  • Highly Commended: Commonwealth Bank   

Best Payroll Giving Program   

  • Winner: The Smith Family  

  • Runner Up: EnergyAustralia

  • Highly Commended: Macpherson Kelley    

Workplace Giving Program of the Year   

  • Winner: JB Hi-Fi  

  • Runner Up: REA Group  

  • Highly Commended: EnergyAustralia